Blood and Ash

5 thoughts on “Blood and Ash”

  1. I kind of think that painting something which looks like it’s intended to reference Rothko doesn’t fit with the nature of your picture, which functions more like an illustration.. I might be wrong here, I don’t know huge amounts about Rothko or art theory but I was under the impression that the message of his work was ‘in the medium’.. That said, it’s not a bad illustration. I imagine it on the Leviticus page of an illustrated bible. (e.g – http://www.makotofujimura.com/four-holy-gospels/)

    Keep it up 🙂

    1. Thanks Josh.

      Any link with Rothko wasn’t intended; it only really occurred to me afterwards, and I hesitated even to mention him. I guess it was the big area of red which made me think of him, and the emotional response I was trying to stir up. But you’re right, very different indeed!
      I think Fujimura’s stuff was probably a bit of a subconscious influence too. I love the idea of illuminating rather than illustrating – communicating something alongside the text without painting a picture of it.

  2. I love reading your comments on it!

    I think probably it’s one which needs to be seen ‘live’ to get a true impression – online it looks a little too tidy, or sort of calm, in the red; I could well imagine that to gaze at it a while in person, seeing the textures, etc., could well conjure up some of the response you indicate in your reflections on it. In other words, I’ll let you know what I think when you exhibit… 🙂

  3. I love the red and gold; that might just be that I love the colours (!) but I think there’s more to it than that. It feels a bit like looking down on something from above, which is interesting, it also feels like a reference to the altar; is God looking down from above? The way the gold is broken up by red reminds me of blood splattered across it. What is God thinking looking down on all those sacrifices?

    It’s rich, it doesn’t feel violent, but the colour does make it intense. Again, the way the red and the ash interact puts me in mind of looking down from above, this time at a spreading pool of blood. It’s poignant, when you look at it that way. Yet something about its interaction with the red feels a little awkward, I would be tempted to work into it a little more.

    When I first looked at it the gold instantly made me think of/feel hope. That in the midst of blood and billowing smoke, with all the sights and smells and sounds, the gold’s burnished lustre pierces the darkness. It says that there is something pure even in the midst of the bloody mess! And yet even it is flecked with blood, a reminder of what is needed, the cost of the sacrifice, and that nothing is totally pure this side of heaven.

    I’d very much like to see it first hand, I think the experience would be much more acute. But even on a screen I like it a lot.

  4. I like it. I get the sense of the altar like an island amidst a sea of blood, almost as if it is washing over a beach of ash.

    Totally agree with étrangère, I expect it has even more impact in the flesh, so am looking forward to a glass of home-made wine at your first exhibition 😉

Leave a Reply

