Jesus and Damien Hirst: Laughing at Life and Death?

14 thoughts on “Jesus and Damien Hirst: Laughing at Life and Death?”

  1. B R I L L I A N t!

    Dunno what it’s off but here’s a quote of his I use a lot:
    “why do I feel so important when I’m not? Nothing is important, and everything is important. I do not know why I am here but I’m glad that I am – I’d rather be here than not. I’m going to die and I want to live forever. I can’t escape that fact, and I can’t le go of that desire”

    1. Thanks. And great quote too. I like that he’s honest enough to admit that he doesn’t like the conclusion that his line of thinking inevitably leads him to.

  2. Nice selection of his works, clearly explained. Reminded me how much I like his work.

    If atheism/nihilism sets up Christianity as something that just makes us feel better about death… it’s not just about death though is it? Aren’t you less alive in the first place if you are trying to live without God?

    1. Hey Josh, thanks for your comment!
      Interesting question. From a Christian viewpoint, you’re definitely less alive if you’re trying to live without God. Freedom isn’t found in escape from God, but in running to God.

      I guess if there’s no hope after death and this life is all there is, then belief in God is just a set of rules which limit life, rather than something freeing and life-giving.

      1. I’m tempted to disagree a little bit..

        Even if there was no God, Christian doctrines (i.e we are made in the image of God so respect humanity) would still have some positive influence would they not? I think the ‘freedom’ to do whatever you want in terms of sex, substances, food and social interaction can equally result in ‘limiting’ life..

        Does that make sense?

      2. Yeah, I totally agree with you. But I think I agree because I’m a Christian, so I already think those things are good. A lot of the changes that have happened in society over the last 60-odd years have been about freedom – allowing people to do more and more of what they want, with the assumption that it makes people happier.
        I think it’s a wrong assumption, but it’s one a lot of people make, particularly when they think about Christianity. You see it in the parable of the prodigal son in Luke 15. The younger son escapes from his father, but he realises it isn’t freedom at all – real freedom is to be found back with his father. But the older son also has a wrong view. He thinks it’s a list of rules, but it’s worth slaving away because one day he’ll get a reward (and he gets angry when he doesn’t). He doesn’t realise that the relationship with his father is what counts.

  3. I’ve only just got round to reading this, but it’s really interesting. It’s nice to have a selection of pieces explained in brief and a worked out example of what they show about the artist. Thanks Gareth!

  4. I honestly think that this is very well written. I rarely keep on reading stuff after the first 3 or 5 lines and this is the 3 blog of yours I have read in 2 days. Very inspiring because I always feel the artist in me who wants to use all the potential for the Glory of God but nothing comes out in the end. Stay blessed Gareth.

  5. its refreshing to read an christian who’s an artist’s response to art. Sometimes i struggle with being an artist and a christian. Dont you feel it can be a pretty self indulgent world?

Leave a Reply

