Totally Gaga?

8 thoughts on “Totally Gaga?”

  1. I’m loving the blog. Lady Gaga is certainly a genius for provoking so much anger and debate simply by wearing clothes out of a material readily available at a supermarket. I don’t think she isn’t doing anything people like Bowie and Madonna have done before (and they had better music). Personally, I think Lady Gaga is pretty normal behind the image. She’ll probably end up wanting to have a conventional lifestyle like Madonna and Bowie.

  2. ‘most importantly they’re talking about her’ – think that’s v astute!
    I applaud your creative linking of the dress to how it cd possibly connect with gays in the army but think you may be giving lady gaga too much credit. I think it more likely that she wore the dress as a usual publicity stunt without particularly thinking about it’s artistic intent, but then capitalised on the publicity by raising an issue she felt strongly about.

    1. I completely agree. The explanation of how the dress was a protest against the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell policy was hers, and I thought it was a bit convoluted. Plus, I think she wore a meat bikini for a Japanese magazine, and her explanation was much more along the lines of, “I am not a piece of meat.” That’s why I think you can assume she’s supporting all kinds of things, when actually the main point was to make a splash in the media.

  3. Totally agree with you on this one, these were the exact questions I had. Except that I do know the second answer, I read somewhere that it stank like hell.

Leave a Reply

